Thoughts Provoked

I truly enjoy the “Tag Surfer” and the “Readomattic” functions found in the Dashboard.  It leads to some interesting posts, some of which I just read, others I will leave a comment.  Here is a comment I left just recently:

Eternal Life …

Although I have heard the phrase often I am not sure I understand the concept. If one is granted eternal life, are they “frozen” in time? Do they exist as an infant, a teen, a young adult, a mature person, and elder?  Or, are they born, grow as we understand aging in our simple terms, only to progress to sentient dust?

With eternal life there is no “old age” or “death” as those terms would be an emphatic oxymoron to the idea. Without a definition of “eternal life” how can one choose it?

Of course, this was from a discussion regarding some of the religious teachings of a well known group, and I am neither for nor against their tenets as I try to keep an open mind and believe people should be able to make choices of their own free will. 

What my reading did spur was the comment, and I guess my naivete in religious ideologies.  I can only hope to see a continued discussion of the ideas being brought forth as I do find them interesting and thought provoking.

2 thoughts on “Thoughts Provoked

  1. Thanks for your comment on my post. Well, the way the JWs explained it to me was that everyone gets to a certain age and then just keeps on living at that age. There is no deterioration of our bodies, so I guess it would be like if everyone were around 50 years old? It just seems too far fetched to me. What would be the point of that. I like that things are born and then things die. That makes sense. I am not afraid of a natural cycle. But the JWs are always trying to show me how awful the world is the way we are living in it now. I choose to see how beautiful and good it is. It just seems to me like this is enough; why long for more?

  2. It always seems they have a “prepared” answer for these questions. A good or bad thing I cannot decide, but not an unfamiliar occurrence either.

    I also agree with you, there should be a beginning and an end; an alpha, and an omega. I’m not so certain that everlasting life would be a good thing.

    Sure, it has been romanticized in literature, but really how many 50 year old people are happy with their state of being? How many are happy enough they would accept it as permanent? Why not 30, or 40, or maybe 25?

    I like 23, it is the first prime number after your teenage years. I think it should be 23! Can we vote on this?

    @fightingwindmills: Thank you for your reply, too.

Leave a Reply

