A Grandfather at 42

Yes, I am a grandfather at the ripe old age of 42. Now I really cannot complain about it. I’m young enough to be able to enjoy and look forward to being actively involved in my grandson’s life. All the events and activities. School. Sports. Hobbies.

I guess the answer to: Life, the Universe, and Everything really is 42. I don’t feel much smarter but I’m sure my world is much better off now.

A good friend asked if I was old enough to be married to a grandmother to which I replied two-fold: I’m not sure I’m old enough to be a grandfather; and, you do know you are being conscripted into being the great-grandfather. We both quietly thought about that as the boy ended up in my arms.

I’m still amazed at how the world around me disappears when I’m holding my grandson. It’s all good, it’s all right, and everything is as it should be.

Welcome, Kaden George Alexander Wilson!

Leave a Reply

