JOATMON

Jack of all trades, master of none.

I’m good with this saying.  Actually, I have always liked it.  It’s simple and, as far as I am concerned, unpretentious. I’d even go so far as to put it on my business cards.

Maybe I will …

I have known this saying: jack of all trades, master of none; as long as I can remember. I also have noticed it is still not something people immediately connect with JOATMON; much like Robert Heinlein’s TANSTAAFL; you might recognize it from “The Moon is a Harsh Mistress” where I first read it.  You may know it from a different reference.

All the same, there is something to be said for acronyms, especially those that enter into some sort of standard colloquialism. So, the next time you find yourself doing something completely away from your normal skill set, just look at it as training for your new job title of JOATMON; and, the next time you find something is too good to be true, just remember:

There Ain’t No Such Thing As A Free Lunch.

Leave a Reply

